Destra expanded fantasy map fun

So i watched a fantastic YouTube series on drawing fantasy maps by WASD20 (you can find the series here). I had been wanting to draw a nicer map for some time. My original map for my campaign was pretty basic to say the least.

First campaign map ever.

I had watched a few different mapping tutorials and most were based in Photoshop or just seemed really inaccessible. After watching WASD20’s tutorial’s though i really felt like i could get into the hand drawn map groove. Here are a few process drawings;

img_20170227_171244 Map practice

I am really happy with the results in the end. This version is still a work in progress as i am debating whether or not to use brushes for the town icons and to type all the text or do everything free hand. I am not the neatest but will have to have a long hard think about what i want to do. Cheers for taking the time to have a look and i am excited to try my hand at a few more maps in the future.

Destra map expanded

The stamp is from Oblivion and i found it at DeviantArt by user iam4ever. The text and some graphics were done in Gimp. I was thinking about hand drawing the icons and names but there is no way i could have written that nicely. Looks good. Though some of those names etc might get changed around. It is also hard to translate the pencil drawn map onto the computer. I really feel it loses some of it’s charm after it is scanned then leveled. Probably because the grey pencil is now a black and the white of the paper is a bit too white.

Leave a comment