A cool mapping idea for your hexcrawl notes.

So I was watching THIS channel today and I saw a very cool way to take notes for your hexcrawl. This is my route for my solo game. This amount of travel and adventure has taken 31 in game days. So Springrise 31st would be the date.

I think it really helps to visualise where you have been quite easily. It helps that it looks good too (not as good as the YouTubers, I’ll thank the small A4 sized image for that one). The party started in Harmsmoor to the west, worked east to the Dankwood and finally south to Fangwood. My last note for my Wolfkin party reads “We’re home.” This made me excited to complete my main characters quest and get onto a new campaign in the Bitter Reach!

A few things of note from this exercise.

  • The key lettering of hexes was too small and had to be written in after printing.
  • My notes weren’t as good as I thought and the first few hexes, from the beginning of the campaign, were not noted. So south of the first dungeon it is.
  • The art markers I used bleed into the paper really hard. Could be new markers or, more likely, the cheap copy paper the image was printed on.

Overall, I really love it. The Youtuber also had a hand drawn map of the Raven Lands which he handed out to players. A nice touch and takes the adventure site marks off the map. Either approach is fine though, map with markers or a more vague map without.

Leave a comment